top of page
  • Writer's pictureMix It Up

Recipe: Four Berry Turnovers


A perfect treat for a picnic!

There’s nothing I love more than entertaining. I love inviting friends over and making delicious food for them, but unfortunately, that hasn’t been possible during the current quarantine. Recently, my friends and I decided to do a socially distanced picnic potluck, and I loved getting the chance to cook for people again! I whipped together these adorable (yet super easy) four berry turnovers. They took about 30 minutes to make, and everyone was so impressed! I highly recommend these turnovers for any party or gathering - or just for you! Make sure you read till the end of the post to download our printable recipe card.


There are a few ways you can modify this recipe. First, I include my go-to vegan “egg wash” in the recipe below, but if you eat eggs, just go ahead and use egg wash! I used frozen puff pastry for simplicity, but refrigerated or homemade puff pastry is great too. Just keep in mind that cooking instructions may vary, so pay attention to what you’re using. You can easily change the fruit filling, but every other part of the recipe should stay the same. Have fun personalizing this recipe!


For this recipe, I used frozen puff pastry by Pepperidge Farms. I thawed it in the microwave, which worked super well! Then I cut the puff pastry into quarters:

The next step is making the berry filling. I used a frozen four berry blend because I already had it on hand, but fresh berries work well too! If you use frozen berries, allow some time for them to thaw. After thawing, sprinkle sugar onto your berry mixture. I prefer turbinado sugar, but any kind of sugar will work!

Then, spoon the berry mix onto the puff pastry (be careful not to overfill!) and seal the pastries with a fork.


Next, make the vegan egg wash. I use about two tablespoons of non dairy milk and about a tablespoon of agave nectar. The sugars in the agave will give the pastries the same golden color that an egg wash does!

In a 425 degree oven, cook the pastries for 10 minutes (until they start to puff). Then, lower the temperature to 375 and finish cooking until the turnovers are golden (about 4-6 more minutes).


And enjoy!

❤️ Sarah


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page