top of page
  • Writer's pictureMix It Up

Recipe: Roasted Cabbage (with Carrots and Potatoes)


During the school year, one of our favorite places to buy produce is a local farmer’s market that's a couple blocks away from campus. The food we buy depends on the season, of course, but last semester we started getting a head of cabbage every time we went, and we discovered so many great recipes to make! These roasted cabbage steaks were one of the first dishes we tried - they were super easy to make at school, and we paired them with roasted carrots and potatoes to make a full meal. Read on for the process, and don’t forget to download our recipe card at the end of the post!



We make this recipe at school all the time, and when I saw a partial head of cabbage sitting in the fridge at home, I decided to try it for lunch one day. I sliced half a head of cabbage into three “steaks” (a full head will probably make between four and six, depending on how thin/thick you slice it):



I also chopped up some carrots and a potato:



Next I lined a sheet pan with aluminum foil and sprayed it with cooking spray before placing the veggies on it. I managed to get them all to fit on one pan, but it was a tight squeeze - if you make any more than I did, I’d suggest using one pan for the cabbage and another for the other veggies.



I brushed the veggies with olive oil and seasoned them with a paprika spice blend. This brand has some of my favorite spice blends - I use this one for almost everything!



Finally, they were ready to roast in a 400 ℉ oven, for about 45 minutes to an hour. I checked them multiple times while they were cooking, moving everything around a little to make sure it didn’t stick to the pan. Pull them out of the oven once the cabbage looks crispy and browned, but before it burns! Plate everything prettily enough to take an Insta-worthy pic, and enjoy!



❤️ Juliana


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page